Hot water bottle cape – free crochet pattern

Stresses of modern day life stopping you sleeping? Keep forgetting to drop a 50p in the meter? Electric blanket phobia? Partner winning the duvet war?

Get yourself a hot water bottle and ascend the wooden hill to noddington all agog with the notion of a cozy night’s kip! Oh no, wait! It doesn’t have a cover – you’re going to get third degree burns! Save yourself with this free crochet pattern.

This hot water bottle cape is really easy to make and wouldn’t look out of place in a Hogwarts dorm.
The most complicated stitches are the front-post and back-post treble crochet, which in fact, aren’t all that complicated. If you haven’t done them before, find a video on youtube and you’re set. These stitches make a ribbing effect which is thick enough to put some distance between the hot bottle and your body, but thin enough to let the warmth through and gives some stretch for a snug fit.

I used chunky yarn with a 5mm hook (so there’s no holes to expose the hot bottle).

Patons Art in 025 Licorice

You can easily remove the hot water bottle – it’s all secured with just one button. Neat.

If you can’t be bothered to buy a hot water bottle or indeed make a cover for it (what are your eyes doing down here?) then I can heartily recommend the 10 second hairdryer-under-the-duvet option before cocooning yourself.

As always, if you have any questions, just leave me a comment. If you make one of these, I’d love to see it, so please send me a photo!

About samigurumi

My crochet blog is a place where I can keep tabs on my projects and show the things I've made to people who actually are interested, so that I'm not tempted to whip out my phone and bore my friends silly with pictures of half-finished hats which is only half-finished because I've run out of the special organic DK yarn in shade blah blah and lot number yawn. I'll also be sharing some of my patterns for free. Ah, free, my favourite of all the prices.

6 responses to “Hot water bottle cape – free crochet pattern

  1. jenny

    Very smart idea.
    Thank you for the pattern.

  2. Hilary

    Hi, I love this idea. Thanks for sharing the pattern. I had a question about the flaps. When you work on the second flap, do you still chain 26? Thanks!

    • Hi Hilary, Sorry this reply is late, I hope you’ve managed to get on ok, but you should only need to do the ch26 on the collar that pulls down around the neck of the bottle.
      Sam

  3. Malea

    Hi Sam,
    I am currently crocheting this pattern… thank you very much for the great instructions, I love it so far. I have two questions: what size button do you recommend at maximum? and how do you seal the bottom nicely?
    thanks again 🙂 looking forward to hearing back from you,
    Malea

  4. Malea

    Hello Sam,

    I am currently crocheting this pattern, just about to start the neck – I love it so far, thank you very much for sharing! I have a few questions though… how do you seal up the bottom nicely? What size button did you use? And what would you recommend as the maximum size, if i was to go larger?

    I look forward to hearing back from you!
    Thanks,
    M

Leave a reply

Read my other non-crocheted blogs

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers

Tweet me

